I love you Mom

Standard

My son is three. He says he loves me every day. He says this by holding my cheeks in his little palms. He continues to say this for atleast 10 minutes it can get extended to as long as ever if I am in a middle of a conversation with some one. He wants me to maintain eye contact with him while he professes his love or he just says “mamma mamma mamma?”. He makes the most eloquent confessions.

“Mamma I like you very much. I like your cheeks”

“Mamma please don’t do any work. Grand ma can do the work.”

“Mamma you are so nice you make my food. You tell me stories.”

“I will never leave you. I will sit on your lap for ever”

“I like you more than my blue car”

And I have to quit whatever I am doing and give him his cuddles and praise him in return otherwise his love has no bounds.

The thing is I am a working mom. So sometimes I really don’t have the time at the point in time he wants the attention. Initially I would even snap at him to leave me alone. Later I realized it’s very important to him to express his love for me and require me to assure him I the same. I also realized heis learning how to converse. Since he is most comfortable at talking about how much he loves me he does it over and over again.

Writing down this post I have come up with another idea. Next time he bestows his attention on me, I will try to lead the conversation into new directions to encourage him to express himself on other things.

Leave a Reply

